The Healthy Back Blog: For mums


Are you still doing your stretches? by louisehampton

This is something I ask my patients all the time but for busy mums it is also extremely important. A lot of our exercise comes from running after the children and walking to the park etc which is great but it is so important to do stretches and especially pelvic floor exercises as well.

Here’s a reminder of some of the best exercises to do:

Lying on your back try bringing one leg towards your chest and hold the stretch for 10 seconds. Repeat with the other leg. If you find this easy then try bringing both legs up together towards your chest.

On all four’s gently arch your back up and then down to stretch.

Then lean back onto your heels

Pelvic floor exercises – sucking in the bottom of your tummy and clenching down below. Hold for 30 seconds or as long as you can.

With all these exercises they should be done very gently and if you experience any pain stop and consult someone like a Chiropractor for advice.

I am a chiropractor in Hertfordshire working from a clinic on Buntingford High Street. I offer free consultations so people can see if Chiropractic would be able to help them.

If you are local to the area why not give us a call on 01763 878087. We have weekend and evening appointments and are registered with the BCA and GCC.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. All the best

Comment by awesome weathervane

Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Many thanks

Comment by amazing weathervane

Hi Thanks for the comments. I think it is quite easy to set up a word press blog – someone set this one up for me but it is very easy to navigate and post new blogs. Good luck with your blog. Louise

Comment by louisehampton

Hey there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects? Thanks!

Comment by awesome weathervane

baby calm is a good one written by a doula but not sure about any others. Thank you for the comment. Louise x

Comment by louisehampton

I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Comment by failbook

Thank you glad you are enjoying it! Louise

Comment by louisehampton

Pretty superior post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve actually enjoyed reading your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post once more soon.

Comment by family holiday locations

wow thank you for the comment

Comment by louisehampton

This can be a intelligent blog. I mean it. You may have so significantly knowledge about this concern, and so significantly passion. You also know the way to make men and women rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Youve got a style here thats not too flashy, but makes a statement as huge as what youre saying. Fantastic job, indeed.

Comment by what is a good sleep aid




Leave a Reply

