The Healthy Back Blog: For mums


The problems feeding can cause to your back and neck by louisehampton

So four months ago I gave birth to a baby boy called Toby and my life has been transformed into a whirlwind of feeding and nappies. It’s not all bad he gives us lots of joy but I never realised the work involved or just quite how heavy babies are.

Toby at 1 week old

Toby at 1 week old

Toby was 9lb 10oz when he was born so from day one he was not light! I found feeding put quite a lot of strain on my upper back and being big he seemed to want feeding constantly. Pillows really helped to keep Toby in the right position and prevented me from leaning forward too much but also having treatment on my upper back from a Chiropractor stopped me becoming too stiff and sore. I suppose I was lucky in that being a Chiropractor myself I knew a Chiropractor who could help me but the British Chiropractic Association has a list of Chiropractors which makes it easy to find one in your area. Chiropractors can work on the joints and muscles in the upper back to loosen the area and it just stopped the pain which had started to travel up into my neck. It is so easy to get swept away with all the things you do for your baby but looking after yourself is extremely important as if you are uncomfortable when feeding it is something which you could soon dread doing. Also after feeding try stretching your back and upper neck maybe whilst you are burping your baby so that it stays as supple as possible.

Toby being fed

Toby being fed

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

